It's For My RP Spec!

Rolling on dresses since 2005.

I Shaved My Legs For This?

Meet Etana.

Click to enlarge!

Etana Newbury is a strong, independent woman of the Warcraft Universe. Her credentials include serving time with the Night Watch of Duskwood, helping to secure the Sunwell on the Isle of Quel’Danas, and holding the front with fellow soldiers in Northrend. She has lobbied for aid for Darkshire in the Royal Court, overcome the tremendous burden of her infant child and husband being murdered by undead, and served the Alliance with pride.

She is here to talk to you about a very grave concern to all female warriors everywhere. A threat more sinister than Kel’thuzad, more warped than Illidan, more depraved than the Lich King, and yes, even more nefarious than Deathwing.

What is this threat?

Plate bikinis.

Click to enlarge!

Yes, I am fully aware that this game is created in the fantasy genre, home of damsels in distress and heroines in metal thongs. I have not forgotten that this game is designed, for the most part, by (and for) men.

But let’s be realistic.

While a lot of this game is suspension of disbelief (as my husband would say, “We’re burying an elf”), I have a difficult time wrapping my head around my warrior tanking Arthas in a titanium swimsuit.

That being said, I have made it my mission to create outfits for her that are the exact opposite of revealing: full plate armor that covers as much skin as possible, providing a barrier between weak human flesh and a dragon’s cleave.

So I present Etana Newbury, proud (and fully-clothed!) warrior of the Alliance.


Etana lives on Wyrmrest Accord, where all my RP characters reside. She has been through several revisions, including whiny member of the Night Watch. I have watched the Auction House for full armor for her for months now and somehow always came up with things like the Revenant set. She sat at level 30 or so, wasting away in the Bank while I complained about the lack of full-coverage armor. And then one day, I decided she needed to be 40 for an epic pony. And then… well. Somehow she became level 73. So it goes.

As a side note, I’m trying a new way of linking the outfits. WoWHead has an amazing function called Compare that lets you create list of items and link directly to it. If it doesn’t work, feel free to comment.

Second side note! Some of these outfits require being a higher level warrior due to the weapons being 2H. Titan’s Grip is a must to recreate.


First up are two similar outfits that really say “guard” to me, but fit a warrior in general.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!

 

 

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


Next is Etana’s Northrend armor, minus helm. The shield was a great quest item addition and matches perfectly.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


Etana’s Duskwood outfit. Dark and full-coverage with intimidating blades.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


A Northrend “DPS”-style outfit. TG for two massive swords.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


Some casual outfits!

The Bandit set is a bit revealing for my tastes; it doesn’t really fit her character, so I borrowed Tanwen’s Sleeveless T-Shirt to make it a bit more modest.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!

I have found myself falling in love with a lot of vendor trash lately. This oufit is no exception.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!

Extremely casual. Capri-style pants, a sleeveless shirt, and plain shoes.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


Okay, okay. This outfit may be belly-baring, but! The style and colors scream ‘warrior’ to me for some reason. There are a few recolors of this set, but this is my favorite.

Click to enlarge!

Click for outfit link!


I have several other sets I’m working on for Etana, including the Outland-level Valor recolor (because let’s face it, Valor is sort of… garish). Perhaps if she ever makes it to 80, I will have some actual armor sets to write about and not things I’ve thrown together.

But I’m veering from the point of this post: less mithril lingerie, more armor that would actually be worth a damn in battle, Blizzard.

November 28, 2010 - Posted by | Cloth, Leather, Mail, Plate | ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] only two of my characters have spent significant amounts of time in Northrend (Tanwen and Etana).  While Etana’s Northrend attire consists of mostly heavy plate armor, Tanwen definitely […]

    Pingback by Baby, It’s Cold Outside « It's For My RP Spec! | January 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you for this! Trying to find a tanking set that looks like you should be taking hits is such a pain sometimes.

    Comment by Syome | September 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. I personally feel that lore-wise, platekinis were always most suitable for orc females. Orcs seem to traditionally prefer less constricting armor in battle, with a lot more exposed skin. (Compare the standard armor for Stormwind and Orgrimmar guards for one of the more glaring examples of this.)

    My female orc warrior Inkai will present a beautiful but deadly package come 4.3 and transmogrification. Pieces of the darkcrest and warmaul sets will come together with Spaulders of Dementia and High Warlord’s Battle Axe. Inkai doesn’t wear capes or helms with her sparse armor, partially due to pride over her appearance, and partially due to her long braid of hair that hangs down her back.

    Comment by Neil | September 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. Have you thought about the Overlord’s items?

    http://www.wowhead.com/compare?items=10203.339:10208.314:10207.339:10209.333:10205.308:10206.307:10201.287:10202.187

    I like this on my female plate wearers since the whole chain mail armor with added plate armor idea seems more flexible if you actually have to move much in a fight. It’s probably also quite a bit lighter than a full plate armor. I combined that with a nice tabard and a matching headband. Like the blue Silk Headband from tailoring and the Private’s tabard:

    http://www.wowhead.com/compare?items=10203.339:10208.314:10209.333:10205.308:10206.307:10201.287:10202.187:15196:7050

    Comment by Xandr | October 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

